News 2018

Programming Languages & Verification

MPI-SWS researchers win OOPSLA 2018 Distinguished Paper award

December 2018
Burcu Kulahcioglu Ozkan, Rupak Majumdar, and Filip Niksic--along with their co-authors Mitra Tabaei Befrouei and Georg Weissenbacher--have won a Distinguished Paper award at the 2018 ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Object-Oriented Programming, Systems, Languages, and Applications (OOPSLA 2017) for their paper "Randomized testing of distributed systems with probabilistic guarantees."

Distinguished Paper awards are given to about 10% of papers at OOPSLA.

Derek Dreyer wins OOPSLA 2018 Distinguished Reviewer Award

December 2018
MPI-SWS faculty member Derek Dreyer was one of two PC members (out of a total of 30 PC members) to win a Distinguished Reviewer Award at OOPSLA 2018.

Program Analysis course at TU Kaiserslautern and Saarland University

October 2018
Maria Christakis and Eva Darulova are teaching Program Analysis at TU Kaiserslautern and Saarland University. This class is co-taught with Jan Reinecke from Saarland University and covers both static and dynamic analysis.

OOPSLA'18: Four MPI-SWS papers

September 2018
Four papers to appear at OOPSLA'18 have been (co)-authored by MPI-SWS members.

POPLpalooza: Five MPI-SWS papers at POPL 2018 + a new record!

January 2018
In 2018, MPI-SWS researchers authored a total of five POPL papers:
  • Parametricity versus the Universal Type. Dominique Devriese, Marco Patrignani, Frank Piessens.
  • Effective Stateless Model Checking for C/C++ Concurrency. Michalis Kokologiannakis, Ori Lahav, Kostis Sagonas, Viktor Vafeiadis.
  • Monadic refinements for relational cost analysis. Ivan Radicek, Gilles Barthe, Marco Gaboardi, Deepak Garg, Florian Zuleger.
  • Why is Random Testing Effective for Partition Tolerance Bugs? Rupak Majumdar, Filip Niksic.
  • RustBelt: Securing the Foundations of the Rust Programming Language. Ralf Jung, Jacques-Henri Jourdan, Robbert Krebbers, Derek Dreyer.

Furthermore, with the "RustBelt" paper, MPI-SWS faculty member Derek Dreyer cements a 10-year streak of having at least one POPL paper each year, breaking the all-time record of 9 years previously held by John Mitchell at Stanford. Congratulations Derek!